You can only delete the last version from a proof. To remove a version from the middle of a proof's version history, split the proof, delete the unwanted version, then move the remaining versions back.
You must be an admin or proof manager to split and move proof versions.
In this example, the proof has six versions (V1–V6) and you want to remove V3.
- Open the Proof Details page and go to V4. Select the options menu (three dots), choose Split versions, then select Split to confirm.
V1–V3 stay in the original proof. V4–V6 become a new proof, renumbered V1–V3.
- In the original proof, V3 is now the latest version. Select the options menu (three dots) and choose Delete latest version, then select Delete to confirm.
- Open the Proof Details page of the new proof and go to V1 (originally V4). Select the options menu (three dots) and choose Move version.
- In the Move version window, select V2 of the original proof and select Move.
The moved version and the versions after it are added after V2.
The original proof now has five versions, without the removed version.
Related articles
Related to
Comments
2 comments
Either this article needs an update on the instructions, or something is affecting my proof because the Disconnect Proof Versions button is not appearing for me. I'm considering using Split version but on that page it specifically says that it is not a way to delete a version in the middle of a proof.
Fix in progress :-)
Hi, Alexandre Lindolfo - thanks for flagging this. You're right, the article was out of date. Disconnect Proof Versions has been renamed Split versions.
Split versions doesn't delete anything by itself, which is why that article says it isn't a way to delete a middle version. The workaround combines split and delete to allow you to remove a version in the middle of a proof.
Let us know if you run into any issues.
Please sign in to leave a comment.